PISTOLS AT DAWN Share Dark Love Song “Fly”

Active rock group PISTOLS AT DAWN stand behind the powerful women in their lives with their new single, “Fly,” a powerful and dark love song. Taken from their upcoming debut studio album ASCENSION, due August 19 via Megaforce/MRI Entertainment, “Fly” will be released across digital platforms on Friday, July 15. Pre-save it HERE. The quintet shared an exclusive premiere of the single’s music video yesterday via Ghost Cult Magazine which shows the band performing in a dark, gritty venue while shining the light on the strong females that are underrepresented in the rock genre. Watch “Fly” streaming below.

The band commented, “We wanted to feature women as the subject of the video, not as an object. Feminine strength and girl power are themes that are very relevant at this moment and are uncharacteristic of most hard rock videos. We have a powerful love song in ‘Fly’ and our goal was to exhibit passion and feeling in a relatively unique way for our genre of music.”  

PISTOLS AT DAWN deliver hard-hitting hooks, magnetic melodies and intricate instrumentation with old school arena-size ambition on ASCENSION. The album was recorded with Grammy Award-winning producer and engineer Sylvia Massy (Tool, System Of A Down, Johnny Cash) who praised the band’s “bright, modern, driving aggression” while lauding the album for its “angular guitars and other-wordly vocals” which “crown the super-human strength of these tracks.” The group shared the first single, “The Truth,” in June which introduced new vocalist Cris Hodges (In The End: The Premiere Linkin Park Experience). Nodding to 90’s alternatives with a personalized twist, Indie Pulse Music described it as “heavy music unafraid to push the boundaries of rock while maintaining catchy melodies and deep messages.”

Based out of Atlanta, GA, PISTOLS AT DAWNADAM JAFFE [drums], DEVIN WHITE [guitar], BILLY SULLIVAN [bass], TOMMY RICHARDSON [guitar] and CRIS HODGES [vocals]–were originally formed in 2015 but disintegrated after the tragic passing of guitarist Mike Buffa in 2018. They reformed in 2019 before releasing NOCTURNAL YOUTH in 2021 which was recorded with Jeff Tomei (Smashing Pumpkins, Matchbox 20). With live music at a halt due to the global pandemic, the band engaged fans worldwide with an immersive online campaign for the EP’s singles “Cold” “Voices,” “Crown,” and “Now Is The Time” which exploded with over 2 million Spotify streams and 6 million video streams combined.

Leave a Reply