VITTRA To Release “Blasphemy Blues” Debut Full-Length November 11th

Swedish melodic blackened death/thrash outfit VITTRA will unleash their debut full-length, Blasphemy Blues, on November 11th, today unveiling the record’s artwork, track listing, and first video/single.

Originally called Vildvittra, based on the characters created by Astrid Lindgren as part of Ronja Rövardotter [Swedish for Ronia,The Robber’s Daughter, a children’s fantasy book first published in 1981], their name later evolved into VITTRA, inspired by the mythical creatures appearing in Swedish folk stories. And while Swedish folk is a recurring theme weaving in and out of their music, the band is firmly rooted in melodic death and thrash metal in the veins of Dissection, early In Flames, Megadeth, and At The Gates.

Founded in 2017 by vocalist David Döragrip and guitarist Johan Murmester, the lineup was completed in 2018 with drummer Alex Smith and bassist Gustav Svensson. Since 2021, VITTRA is also joined by Lars Elofsson on lead guitar both on stage and in the studio.

In 2021, VITTRA released their debut EP Wardens, recorded at SolnaSound Production, Sweden, with the support of Simon Johansson (Soilwork, Wolf). Championed Metal Temple of the release brief but potent offering, “this fifteen minute, four-track long debut EP is absolute in its ability to take the listener on a blistering ride of carnage and mayhem. They are heavier than your average melodic death band, tighter and more forward thinking than most thrash bands and have a keener sense of melody and style than a lot of black metal.” The Razor’s Edge concurred, “The band sound incredibly accomplished with their debut release and have four songs written and performed to an extremely high standard.” Added Rock ‘N’ Load in a 9/10 rating ,“To say that this is a debut seems ridiculous when you hear how good this EP is.”

In October 2021, only a few months later, VITTRA entered SolnaSound again, this time supported by both Simon and Mike Wead (King Diamond, Mercyful Fate), and in April 2022 Blasphemy Blues was finalized. Lawrence Mackrory (Bloodbath, Lik, Firespawn) handled the mixing and mastering. Hjules created the cover artwork.

Notes the band of their first single, “Musically, ‘Satmara‘ showcases one of the VITTRA trademarks, being the combination of death/thrash with strong songwriting and catchy hooks. In the veins of Megadeth meets ‘80s Ozzy, it comes with a heavy metal-ish twist to it, having that ‘chugging’ on the A-string, but surprises with an overall upbeat pop feel. This inspired the idea of having a dance performance in the video, replacing the same-old guitar solo closeups with an explosive interpretation of movements, celebrating what connects humankind on the most primeval level: ‘A shared desire / A crime so vile angels wept apocalyptic fire … Do you feel my pounding heart?’”

Blasphemy Blues Track Listing:

1. Colossal

2. Halls of Ancients

3. Satmara

4. Lykantropi

5. Feeding Frenzy

6. Self-Loathing

7. Temptation

8. Sommarfödd

9. Undead (Bonus Track)


Alex Smith – drums

David Döragrip – vocals

Gustav Svensson – bass

Johan Murmester – guitar

Lars Elofsson – guitar (live)

Leave a Reply