Puscifer, who have released a companion remix collection for each of their studio albums, have assembled the band’s most personal collection of remixers to date for Existential Reckoning: Rewired (December 9, Puscifer Entertainment/Alchemy Recordings/BMG).

Existential Reckoning: Rewired is a dataset of revoiced and reassembled orchestrations by friends and members of the larger Pusciforce family,” says Mat Mitchell.

“Sometimes it’s just fun to break stuff,” offers Maynard James Keenan. “Then you latch on to one familiar piece and build something entirely new.”

The 12-song album offers a track-for-track re-imaging of the songs from the 2020 album, Existential Reckoning. Puscifer band members Mitchell and Carina Round, along with current touring musicians Greg Edwards (Failure) and Gunnar Olsen reinterpret tracks from the prophetic, electro-laced record. The Academy Award-winning team of Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross tackle “Apocalyptical” (Reznor has a co-writing credit with Maynard James Keenan and Mitchell on Puscifer’s 2009 song, “Potions”), Phantogram revamp “Postulous,” Queens of The Stone Age (and sometimes A Perfect Circle/Failure) guitar player Troy Van Leeuwen partners with his Gone is Gone bandmate, Tony Hajjar for “Grey Area,” while Tool’s Justin Chancellor and The Crystal Method’s Scott Kirkland join forces for “UPGrade.” Additional contributors include Juliette Commagere, who first appeared on Puscifer’s 2011 album Conditions of My Parole, Existential Reckoning studio drummer Sarah Jones, keyboard player Alessandro Cortini (Nine Inch Nails), and BBC 1’s Daniel P. Carter.

Existential Reckoning: Rewired tracklist:

1.    Bread and Circus (Re-imagined by Mat Mitchell)

2.    Apocalyptical (Re-imagined by Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross)

3.    The Underwhelming (Re-imagined by Juliette Commagere)

4.    Grey Area (Re-imagined by Troy Van Leeuwen & Tony Hajjar)

5.    Theorem (Re-imagined by Sarah Jones & Jordan Fish)

6.    UPGrade (Re-imagined by Justin Chancellor & Scott Kirkland)

7.    Bullet Train To Iowa (Re-imagined by Alessandro Cortini)

8.    Personal Prometheus (Re-imagined by Greg Edwards)

9.    A Singularity (Re-imagined by Carina Round)

10. Postulous (Re-imagined by Phantogram)

11. Fake Affront (Re-imagined by Gunnar Olsen)

12. Bedlamite (Re-imagined by Daniel P. Carter)

Existential Reckoning tour dates:

October 13 San Francisco, CA The Warfield

October 15 Reno, NV Grand Theatre at the Grand Sierra Resort

October 16 Paso Robles, CA Vina Robles Amphitheatre

October 18 Escondido, CA California Center for Arts Escondido – Concert Hall

October 20 Tucson, AZ The Linda Ronstadt Music Hall (formerly Tucson Music Hall)

October 21 El Paso, TX Abraham Chavez Theatre

October 22 San Antonio, TX Tech Port Center & Arena

October 25 Houston, TX 713 Music Hall

October 26 Ft. Worth, TX Will Rogers Memorial Auditorium

October 28 New Orleans, LA Mahalia Jackson Theater

October 29 Baton Rouge, LA River Center Theatre

October 31 Nashville, TN Ryman Auditorium

November 1 Charlotte, NC Ovens Auditorium

November 3 Norfolk, VA Chrysler Hall

November 4 Washington, DC Warner Theatre

November 5 Atlantic City, NJ Sound Waves at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino

November 7 Montreal, QC L’Olympia

November 8 Toronto, ON Queen Elizabeth Theatre

November 10 Cincinnati, OH The Andrew J. Brady Music Center

November 11 Louisville, KY Louisville Palace

November 12 Indianapolis, IN Murat Theatre at Old National Centre

November 13 Madison, WI The Orpheum Theater

November 15 Grand Rapids, MI DeVos Performance Hall

November 17 St. Louis, MO The Factory

November 18 Kansas City, MO The Midland Theatre

November 19 Tulsa, OK Tulsa Theater

November 22 Prescott, AZ Yavapai College Performing Arts Center

About Puscifer

Born somewhere in the Arizona desert, Puscifer is an electro-rock band, multimedia experience, traveling circus, and alien abduction survivors. The group’s catalog consists of four full-length studio albums: “V” is for Vagina [2007], Conditions of My Parole [2011], Money Shot [2015], and Existential Reckoning (2020) — in addition to a series of EPs and remixes. Beyond the core trio of Maynard James Keenan [vocals, songwriting], Mat Mitchell [guitar, production, songwriting], and Carina Round [vocals, songwriting], the group’s ever-evolving ecosystem encompasses Josh Moreau (bass), Gunnar Olsen (drums), as well as a cast of characters such as Billy D and his wife Hildy Berger, Major Douche, Special Agent Dick Merkin, and many more. Meanwhile, the moniker’s origins can be traced to a 1995 episode of the HBO classic Mr. Show where Keenan first used the name “Puscifer.” In addition to tallying tens of millions of streams and views, they’ve piqued the curiosity of the press. Entertainment Weekly christened them, “Exceptionally groovy,” and Revolver fittingly described them as “indescribable.” Renowned for an immersive live show, the group’s performances blur the lines between concert and theater, traversing the dusty American Southwest with Billy D and Hildy or the sweaty squared circle with Luchadores. They’ve brought their unique live experience to life everywhere from Coachella to Bonnaroo. On their 2020 debut for Alchemy Recordings/Puscifer Entertainment/BMG entitled Existential Reckoning, Puscifer track Billy D back to the desert and, just maybe, uncover the truth about aliens once and for all.

Leave a Reply