the pillows to Release Over 220 Tracks Digitally

They’ve turned down an opening spot for Oasis just for the sake of it, their albums should have been included in Rolling Stone’s 500 Greatest Albums listings according to The Japan Times, and they are responsible for the entire soundtrack of zany cult anime FLCL. Now, for the first time in their 33-year career, the pillows will release a large chunk of their catalogue digitally.

From today, 16 September 2022, 22 singles, a best of album and a B-side compilation album from the pillows will be made available to stream and download courtesy of Japanese music specialists JPU Records. This will be followed by 14 albums and a self-cover EP on 12 October 2022.

Among the numerous highlights from today’s releases are 1997’s HYBRID RAINBOW, with its cathartic chorus and a video filmed in London which has been viewed over 2.3 million times on YouTube; 2000’s Ride on shooting star, which catapulted the band into international recognition when it, along with many other songs from the band, were used in the soundtrack to the anime FLCL, produced by GAINAX (Neon Genesis Evangelion, Gunbuster); and 2019’s Happy Go Ducky! which is also the opening theme to basketball anime Ahiru no Sora.

For October’s studio albums there’s 1998’s critically acclaimed LITTLE BUSTERS, which The Japan Times argued should have been included in The Rolling Stone’s ‘The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time’ listing; there’s early 90s album KOOL SPICE where fans can hear the band develop before finding their sound on classic albums such as RUNNERS HIGH and HAPPY BIVOUACright up to latest album REBROADCAST, which is also being released.

Additionally, the solo album Nonocular violet from the pillow’s main songwriter Sawao Yamanaka will also be released on 12 October 2022, bringing over 220 tracks online over the next four weeks.

16 September 2022 releases: DAYDREAM WONDER (1994 single)
Girlfriend (1995 single)
Tiny Boat (1996 single)
Strange Chameleon (1996 single)
Swanky Street (1996 single)
TRIP DANCER (1996 single)
Kanojo wa Kyou, (1997 single)
ONE LIFE (1997 single)
HYBRID RAINBOW (1997 single)
Another Morning (1998 single)
NO SELF CONTROL (1998 single)
Instant Music (1998 single)
CARNIVAL (1999 single)
RUSH (1999 single)
Ride on shooting star (2000 single)
I think I can (2000 single)
white summer and green bicycle, red hair with black guitar. (2002 single)
Sono Mirai wa Ima (2004 single)
Non Fiction (2005 single)
THE THIRD EYE (2005 single)
Happy Go Ducky! (2019 single)
Fool on the planet (2001 best of album)
Another morning, Another pillows (2002 B-side compilation album)

12 October 2022 releases:

KOOL SPICE (1994 album)
LIVING FIELD (1995 album)
Please Mr. Lostman (1997 album)
LITTLE BUSTERS (1998 album)
RUNNERS HIGH (1999 album)
HAPPY BIVOUAC (1999 album)
Smile (2001 album)
Thank you, my twilight (2002 album)
PENALTY LIFE (2003 album)
GOOD DREAMS (2004 album)
TURN BACK (2004 self-cover EP)
MY FOOT (2006 album)
STROLL AND ROLL (2016 album)
NOOK IN THE BRAIN (2017 album)
REBROADCAST (2018 album)
Nonocular violet (Sawao Yamanaka’s 2020 solo album)

Leave a Reply